How exciting it is, to have a nice Sunday spring evening just after the roof slates are complete, awaiting the last arrival, and so the station is clear for a view from platform 2. Across the tracks it is clear to admire what is becoming a very handsome building which will greet passengers on our incoming trains.
The artist’s impressions are coming to reality. They did of course only show the external appearance, so we have no idea what to expect from the inside other than what we can glean from the floor plan.
Welsh Penrhyn slate is steadily adorning the roof and looking wonderful. It’s described as blue with a purple hint and fine grained riven in texture, with the heather blue being enhanced by subtle variations in colour and natural markings that emphasise its true natural beauty.
Penrhyn Quarry near Bethesda has a fascinating history to match that of our own Bridgnorth, being owned from the 1780s by the Pennant family. It possessed its own external and internal tramway system and had its own port and ships. The profits enabled the Pennants to construct Penrhyn Castle with its unique slate four poster bed. From 1878 Port Penrhyn on the Menai Straits was linked to the quarry by a steam operated line which closed in 1962, but two of the locos Blanche and Linda now work on the Ffestiniog Railway. It also had a mainline connection to the Chester and Holyhead Railway from 1852. Now the Port is used by fishing and pleasure boats. Its heritage is clear from the slate slabs used to edge the quays, and there are some original buildings on site including the locomotive shed and a now-listed circular toilet!