Looking the part

IMG_6842

How exciting it is, to have a nice Sunday spring evening just after the roof slates are complete, awaiting the last arrival, and so the station is clear for a view from platform 2. Across the tracks it is clear to admire what is becoming a very handsome building which will greet passengers on our incoming trains.

IMG_6863

The artist’s impressions are coming to reality. They did of course only show the external appearance, so we have no idea what to expect from the inside other than what we can glean from the floor plan.

IMG_6823

 

IMG_6819

Advertisements

Four days of engineering work

30741894_2068034046558494_5961892798897689643_nPipe train back at Highley after tripping from Northwood Lane.

30741878_2068034123225153_4979370377793309279_n

30726354_2068034206558478_3065585667435765830_n

Quality of workmanship is exquisite – no building to a price in the good old days.

30171448_2068043899890842_954636805576002987_o

New coping stones on the wing walls at Bridge 19, Country Boundary, Tues 17 April

30171488_2068026366559262_2175395381835428382_o

30425785_2068026443225921_2322789617455393893_o

30073651_2068026536559245_4252727319451428580_o

[all photos by Brent Cleeton]

Welsh Slate from historic Penrhyn

IMG_6748

Welsh Penrhyn slate is steadily adorning the roof and looking wonderful. It’s described as blue with a purple hint and fine grained riven in texture, with the heather blue being enhanced by subtle variations in colour and natural markings that emphasise its true natural beauty.

IMG_6753

Penrhyn Quarry near Bethesda has a fascinating history to match that of our own Bridgnorth, being owned from the 1780s by the Pennant family. It possessed its own external and internal tramway system and had its own port and ships. The profits enabled the Pennants to construct Penrhyn Castle with its unique slate four poster bed. From 1878 Port Penrhyn on the Menai Straits was linked to the quarry by a steam operated line which closed in 1962, but two of the locos Blanche and Linda now work on the Ffestiniog Railway. It also had a mainline connection to the Chester and Holyhead Railway from 1852. Now the Port is used by fishing and pleasure boats. Its heritage is clear from the slate slabs used to edge the quays, and there are some original buildings on site including the locomotive shed and a now-listed circular toilet!

IMG_6754

IMG_6749